• Welcome to the Land Rover UK Forums

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to register then please Register Now

Pm's

yeah but if you're say, sending your address or sharing any other personal information to another member, shouldn't the private message be exactly what it says on the tin??? maybe I dont want the Moderators to know my exact whereabouts or anything personal for that matter.

On another car related forum that I am an admin/mod we can access peoples PM's, it's not easy to do so but it is possible. We have only had to do it a handful of times. Once was when a forum member threatened to shoot another member because he took offence to something that was said!:eek: Normally you would ignore this sort of thing but from reading his posts, he had access to his brothers rifles and had posted pictures of him with the gun so we had to take it seriously.

We did our own investigating, trawling through past threads and eventually PM's to find his name and address. Reported him to the police, I think the police visited but he denied everything although we had evidence from the forum of his threats.

I wanted to ban him but got out voted so I have little to do with the forum now although I am a founding member.

Only thing I will say on the matter is that Im a network admin, so I have access to everyones e-mails in work. Not once have I looked at other peoples e-mail without just cause as I really am not interested in other peoples personal lives heh!

i had a message board once and i could read everyones pm's.
not that i did though but i could if i wanted to.
i think if you need to send delicate information do it by e mail.