• Welcome to the Land Rover UK Forums

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to register then please Register Now

Re-installing XP

rooster

Offroader
Hi all,

My computer started to blue screen a lot at random, so I've moved onto my other computer and haven't used the other since. How do I reinstall window's XP?

I have:

Windows XP disc
Computer that's needs kicking
All my work back-up so nothing will be lost (learnt that the hard way)

Now, this is something I've never done before. What happens? Do I just put the disc in and turn on the computer and follow the onscreen instructions? Because it's a SATA hard drive will that make things difficult?

Just some basic questions to get me started, but I may need to ask more later, unless I'm missing something. Also I'm not an idiot with computers, just never done this before, and was just after a heads up sort of thing.

Cheers

If you haven't got a disc with the drivers on (for stuff like graphic cards, DVD RW etc) then get them before you start. Then you can install any bits of hardware that XP doesn't have a driver for

If over half of the hard drive is free then I would partition it so you can still access you old stuff if you need too (like drivers etc).

With these driver's, A computer can boot from it's CD drive? So why do I need the drivers for the CD drive, and once XP is installed then why can't I go onto the internet and start to install the drivers for the Sound cards, Graphics cards etc then?

Patriot, i have no interest in anything on the hard drive at present, (i'll look for the drivers anyway), so a complete format is also needed, everything is backed-up.