• Welcome to the Land Rover UK Forums

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to register then please Register Now

series 3 snorkel

bigcatkeeper

In Third Gear
hi im a complete newb to tinkering with my s3 (or any car), im looking into getting a snorkel fitted to my s3 when searching there doesnt seem to be many for s3 neerly all 90/110 etc,
would these fit my s3?
also there seems to be two groups of prices one around £70/£80 then the other £150+ is there a mechanical reason or just branding an more durablie materials?

any help much appreciated :)

bigcatkeeper

Mantec DEX 04 and Southdown, are the only comercially made S3 snorkels I am aware of, Mantec around £90.00 and Southdown £130.00, both prices are ludicrous for a piece of bent metal pipe and 2 brackets,a hose and three jubilee clips. the mushroom top is the bit that does the 'work' of keeping unwanted particulants (sand, dust, water etc) from reaching the air filter. There are no mechanical parts to speak of.

If you find another let me know I have been searching for years for a sensibly priced one.

Previously, I bought a mushroom top off ebay and did the rest with black drainpipe!
Snorkel1.jpg

wow thanks for a very quick reply
i shall look into the ones youv surgested, so far the uneversal one by far the cheepest,
i dint relize how simple they are on the construction it may purswade me to diy and by a top

much appreicated

DSCF1075.jpgI've got one I don't want. You can have it for cheap if you like. It's outside and raining cats and dogs here, so can't dig it out just now, but here's a pic of it before I dismantled the landy for restoration! David

phoenixdave ye ill be intrested, how much would it be and how would i go about paying, and sorting posting out etc?