• Welcome to the Land Rover UK Forums

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to register then please Register Now

Engine Preheater on 2.25 diesel

Series 1 2 & 3

Big Landy Fan
I've fitted an engine preheater on my newly installed rebuilt 2.25 diesel engine.

The reason being that winter is approaching (and I am getting old) so I want to minimise the discomfort and inconvenience on those cold/wet/damp/freezing mornings that are so common around here in the Fens.

I've never used a preheater before although I have often thought about fitting one but been put off with the faff, disturbance and expense.

After a lot of thought I decided to keep everything cheap and simple if I could.

This is what I bought:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3KW-220V...767823&hash=item590890fcd1:g:pSEAAOSwLXtal82y

It was only £24.88 and arrived within 10 days.
I didn't think much of the flimsy mounting bracket supplied with it nor the undersize tee pieces so I did not use them.
The actual 3 kilowatt preheater looked quite well built.

I mounted it to the spare left-hand drive steering column mount near the starter motor using 2 set screws and packing washers.
(see photos)
I used an existing hole in the mount and drilled an additional hole for the other set screw.

I cut off the European plug on the mains flex and threaded it into a short piece of flexible conduit for added protection.
I fed it through the dash bulkhead into the dashboard tray and fitted a 13 amp plug.
The flex was just long enough.
I intend to use an extension lead to supply the plug in the cab and probably thread the lead through the steering wheel so I won't drive off and forget it!