• Welcome to the Land Rover UK Forums

You are currently viewing the site as a guest and some content may not be available to you.

Registration is quick and easy and will give you full access to the site and allow you to ask questions or make comments and join in on the conversation. If you would like to register then please Register Now
Welding: The Experience’s Of A Complete Beginner

Stories Welding: The Experience’s Of A Complete Beginner

Guitar Mick

Staff member
Guitar Mick submitted a new resource:

Welding: The Experience’s Of A Complete Beginner - The learning experience from the view point of a complete novice

I have recently decided to learn how to weld. For whatever reason it’s a skill I have never got round to trying. But now I am a Land Rover owner I reckon the time has come!

This is not intended to be a 'How to' thread. I know there are a lot of the Forum members are already masters of this skill, there are some lovely examples of the art on several current threads, but I thought it would be interesting to make a record of the learning experience from the view point of a complete novice……

Read more about this resource...

Cleanliness is paramount... One of those flap sanding discs that fits in your grinder to polish the metal clean is ideal. It makes for a better weld, less contaminants.

It's handy to have more than one angle grinder too. One with grinding disc, one cutting disc and one for the flap discs. Like you need an excuse for more tools, huh? Much better than constantly swapping discs out.

A big hint... Don't tell folk you have a welder. The things folk pester for when they find out.... :rolleyes:

Looking forward to seeing how you progress :) (minus the burns, please. Don't want you to be doing that!)

For what its worth ...
buy yourself a bright directable work light (easier to see what you are welding through the mask lens) ....
AND if you wear glasses for reading ...wear them behind the mask ...